DANCING

Over this past weekend I went to my cousin’s wedding. Weddings are not uncommon for my family considering how huge it is. While at the reception, I quickly noticed how many people were just sitting at their table and looking so disinterested. I kept wondering why other people were not dancing with the rest of us. I am the first person to admit that I was not blessed with any type of dancing skills or coordination whatsoever, but that never stops me from dancing at fun events like a wedding! It is crazy to me how some people are SO concerned about how others will look at them if they decide to do something as simple or as fun as dancing in public. If a person LIKES to dance then you should feel free to bust a move without the idea that someone else will make fun of you holding you back. NOBODY IS “TOO COOL” TO DANCE. In my opinion, the people who are standing off to the side with judging eyes and unfriendly facial expressions are the ones who are having a lot less of a good time than the people who are unapologetically letting loose on the dance floor. Thankfully, the older I get the less I care about how others choose to view me. Don’t get me wrong, I still care about how people think of my character, but I do not have time to worry about whether or not I am meeting someone else’s standards or expectations of what is cool and what is not cool to do. People are always going to have something to say about what you are doing or how you look like or what you say, but that should never stop you from having fun and creating good memories with your favorite people. Imagine if everyone held themselves back from doing things just because they were too afraid of what someone else was going to think about them. If that were the case, then no one would ever get to express themselves in anything. I guess writing is the same exact way as dancing. There are some people who are scared to write about what they think because they don’t want others to think that what they have to say is “uncool” or “lame.” It makes me truly sad that some people aren’t able to get past the fear of someone else’s opinion.

One comment

  1. Rob Durham · September 14, 2015

    Ahh dancing. Here’s my defense. When a female dances not so great–aww, she’s still cute out there tryin’ to cut the rug…but when a guy as lanky as myself tries (and always fail), it just looks awkward and awful. Trust me, I know! Once at a club a girl asked me, “Wait–that’s how you dance?” and then walked away laughing. I’ve been banned from dancing in 6 states already! I’m only semi-good at it when–wait, nevermind, you know where that’s going. It’s kind of like singing. Everyone can try, but if you’re bad, it’s hard to watch/listen to. (Thank goodness I can sing some!) But yes, at a wedding people should let themselves go. The scene you describe isn’t all that uncommon though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

