I’m on my break right now

My Saturdays are always my least favorite day of the week. I am unfortunately scheduled to work a double shift every Saturday at my job. I work at Fortel’s Pizza Den as a lot of different things. I take orders, answer phones, run food out to their tables, and a lot of other things I just can not think of at the moment. I set my alarm clock for 9 a.m. but I don’t actually get out of my bed until 10ish. I’m scheduled for 11 so before then I like to throw myself a little pity-party about having to spend my Saturday afternoon at work. It’s not that I don’t like my job, it’s just that Saturdays are good days to run errands, catch up on some homework, and do fun things with your friends. There’s always Sunday to do those same things, but everyone knows that Sunday is a school night therefore it isn’t the same. I get off of work around 2 or 3 p.m. for my break in between my two shifts, so I am blessed with 2 whole hours to do whatever I want before I have to go back for my night shift. Saturday nights are insanely busy at Fortel’s because there are always little kid sports teams who come in for their trophy parties or big groups of people who come in after a game of some sort. Not only does the dining room quickly fill itself up, but then there are also so many carryout and delivery orders to take care of as well. I am a pretty reliable worker, because I don’t mind switching shifts with other people whenever they ask me to, so my managers usually throw me up in the front taking orders all by myself which can get really scary and intimidating. Luckily, I get to work with my best friend, Ellie, on Saturday nights. If we weren’t both scheduled for that shift I would probably lose my sanity from all of the chaos. One of the worst things about working Saturday nights is that there is not a designated time for when I will get off, it’s just whenever a manager tells me I can go home. This makes it pretty much impossible to make plans for after work because I never know when I will be available. I enjoy doing work and feeling useful to other people, but I wish that Fortel’s was closed on Saturdays, or I wish that I was unemployed on Saturdays.

One comment

  1. Rob Durham · September 19, 2015

    Handling a shift like that means you can handle the good college jobs too–cocktail waitress, management, etc. Then once you get that degree you’ll have so many connections you can pick a job, plus you know how to deal with all types of people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

