I guess I blinked

It seems like it was just yesterday when my three siblings and I were all attending Holy Infant Catholic School at the same time. Now, the four of us are at a point in our lives where we are all doing different things. Time is so weird.

Everything will be dramatically changing this summer. My oldest sister, Kellie, has decided to quit her job as an elementary teacher and join the Peace Corps. She’ll be moving to Figi in August and she won’t be coming home for two and a half years. While I admire her ability to do something like this, I can’t say that I’m totally thrilled about it, but I know that if this is what she truly wants to do then I have to support her decision and be happy for her. My other older sister, Keri, is graduating college in May and then moving to Colorado for her job. She majored in hospitality and management, so she’s getting a management job at some vacation hotel. I know how much she loves Colorado so I think that this is going to be really good for her. Her personality and spirit belongs in a place like Colorado, so this is definitely what she’s supposed to be doing. I’ll be going to college this summer too, and while Mizzou’s not too far away from home it’s still going to be a big adjustment especially since my sisters will also be in completely different places. My family has always lived in the same place, we’ve never even moved houses. And now all at once we are all relocating. My younger brother is still in high school so he’s not going anywhere and I can’t imagine how he feels about all of his siblings leaving at the same time. My parents are trying their best to be happy for Kellie’s Peace Corps decision but obviously they have a lot of concerns and fears the same way any parent would. They’re excited for Keri because they’ve always known that she wanted to live somewhere like Colorado. As for me, I am feeling a lot of different ways. I don’t know how I am going to cope with Kellie being so far away and having very little contact with her, she’s always been my safety net. She’s taught me everything I know so far, and I know that I will need her when I’m a freshman in college. I’ll still have Keri, but her and I have a different relationship than Kellie and I. When it comes to Keri, she’s all about tough love. She will tell you like it is whether you want it that way or not. A lot of times, her honesty comes off as insulting and ridiculing so I’ve just learned to turn to Kellie who is much more sensitive and nurturing about other people’s problems.

I have about six more months with all of my siblings living in the same place as me. I know it’s going to fly by. I don’t want it to. Is this called moving on and growing up? If so I don’t think I want to grow up anymore.

Leave a Reply

